Transitioning - 2 wheels to 3

New to the Ryker? New to forums? Introduce yourself and say hello! Ask questions and we can help you get going.
wmjweber02
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Transitioning - 2 wheels to 3

#1 Post by wmjweber02 » Tue Jul 23, 2019 10:24 am

I am not a Can-Am owner, but I am seriously considering one. I have been riding for over 50 years, but age and arthritis are catching up to me. I rode a Goldwing for about 25 years, but about 5 years ago it was clear that I needed to downsize. It just got too big and I could no longer get it up on the center stand or even push it around the garage. I bought the newly introduced Honda CTX 700 with ABS and DCT (BTW, that DCT is awesome. Honda really got it right). However, I am no longer confident I can even keep that one upright in all conditions. The riding is no problem but coming to a stop under anything but ideal conditions makes me worry about dropping it. My GF likes riding, but two up is no longer really an option for me. If I want to continue riding, it will have to be on 3 wheels.

So I tried an F3 at the dealer. It felt really unstable, like it would be in the ditch with the slightest excuse. Having been on two wheels so long, I have ingrained reactions. Counter steering is one. When I am riding and the bike drifts a little in the lane, it automatically corrects. I don’t even think about it. On the Can-Am, the drift just got worse, threatening to hit the curb, until I realized what I was doing wrong. When I got the DCT, I found myself reaching for the clutch on stressful stops even more than a year later. A harmless automatic response in that case. However, the wrong automatic response on a Can-Am could be disastrous.
I did not find much to like with the F3, but I could get used to it I suppose. It was much more noisy and rough than I expected. I really hated where they put the mirrors. I have not tried the Ryker yet. It could be a better choice for me.