Normal Sounds of a brand new ryker?

General discussion area on the Can-Am Ryker
chaos2come
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Normal Sounds of a brand new ryker?

#1 Post by chaos2come » Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:03 pm

Hello, fellow Ryker owners!

I just bought my first Can-Am Ryker about 2 weeks ago! First of all I can say I'm very happy with it! I've got the 900 ACE model. And so far no unusual things going on with it that I am aware of.
I'm new to the whole biker scene. I never before owned any kind of motorbike in my life, and I took a full weekend course on riding at my local Community College. And I now have my motorcycle license.
Like I mentioned earlier I didn't notice any unusual things going on with my Ryker. However, I would like to know what I should be listening for that would let me know that there is something
Unusual going on with my motor.

Right now I'm in North Carolina and it's very cold outside and wet. When I left work about an hour ago, I let my ryker warm up until the RPMs fell to about 800 and the engine was not idling high.
I noticed a louder than normal tapping sound coming from the right side of the engine that wasn't present until tonight. I noticed a very very small ticking noise when I first bought the trike, and I
figured that was just a normal engine noise,But tonight I noticed a little bit of a louder sound coming from the same side. Which eventually went away. Now once I got into my neighborhood I noticed
a very rapid tapping noise that wasn't loud but very subtle. I took off my helmet and rode it just a little ways down the street from my driveway to see if it was louder than what I heard from inside my helmet.

Which is a full-face helmet. But the rapid tapping/ticking sound, sounded the same from within the helmet as it did without the helmet. So, my question is: Should I be hearing any tapping noise coming from